Young Investigator Award

The Forests Early Career Investigator Award was established in 2020 to acknowledge the achievements of young investigators in the field of forest and forest ecology. Nominations will be accepted from April through June each year, with winners notified by the end of August. 

The Prize:
– CHF 1000;
– An Electronic Certificate
– A free voucher for article processing fees valid for one year. 

Number of Winners: 2

Forests 2023 Young Investigator Award
Nomination deadline: 30 June 2024
Winner announcement: 31 August 2024

Eligibility and Requirements

– Must have received a PhD degree on or after 1 January 2019;
– Must have produced ground-breaking research and made a significant contribution to the advancement of forest science;
– Candidates must be nominated by senior scientists.

List of Documents for Nomination

– A detailed curriculum vitae, including an updated publication list and a list of the researcher’s own research grants;
– A scanned copy of the candidate’s doctorate certificate;
– Signed nomination letters from two established senior scientists.
Past Winners


Mianhai Zheng
South China Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Juergen Knauer
Western Sydney University

Award Committee

Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng Chairman
University of Auckland
Dr. Emil Engelund Thybring
University of Copenhagen
Dr. Sabrina Palanti
Dr. Adriano Mazziotta
Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)


Oksana Pelyukh
Ukrainian National Forestry University, Lviv, Ukraine
Saverio Francini
Università degli Studi di Firenze

Award Committee

Dr. Timothy A. Martin Chairman
University of Florida
Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng
University of Auckland
Dr. Seng Hua Lee
Universiti Teknologi MARA
Prof. Dr. Fred O. Asiegbu
Prof. Angela Lo Monaco
Università della Tuscia
Dr. J Julio Camarero
Pyrenean Institute of Ecology (IPE)-CSIC


Rachael Nolan
Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment, Western Sydney University
Adriane Esquivel Muelbert
University of Birmingham BIFoR

Award Committee

Dr. Timothy A. Martin Chairman
University of Florida
Dr. Luis Diaz-Balteiro
Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng
University of Auckland
Back to TopTop