Journal History

2013 The Inaugural issue was released. Microorganisms was published as a quarterly journal.
2016 Microorganisms was indexed in PubMed -  National Library of Medicine.

Microorganisms established the following sections: 

  • Gut Microbiota;
  • Environmental Microbiology.

Microorganisms was indexed in Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) - Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics).
Microorganisms established the following sections:

  • Food Microbiology;
  • Microbial Biotechnology
  • Medical Microbiology;
  • Systems Microbiology;
  • Molecular Microbiology.

Microorganisms adopted a monthly publication schedule.
Microorganisms received its first Impact Factor (4.167). The journal ranked 34/133 (Q2) in the 'Microbiology' category.
Microorganisms established the following sections:

  • Antimicrobial Agents and Resistance;
  • Public Health Microbiology;
  • Parasitology;
  • Plant Microbe Interactions.
Microorganisms was indexed in Scopus - Elsevier.

Microorganisms became an affiliated journal of the Spanish Society for Nitrogen Fixation (SEFIN).

Microorganisms established the following section:

  • Biofilm.

Microorganisms established the following sections:

  • Virology;
  • Veterinary Microbiology.
Section Molecular Microbiology was renamed as Molecular Microbiology and Immunology.
Microorganisms became an affiliated journal of the Hellenic Society Mikrobiokosmos (MBK).
2022 Microorganisms became an affiliated journal of the Society for Microbial Ecology and Disease (SOMED).


2013–2016 Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. John Fuerst
2016–present  Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Martin von Bergen

Section Editor-in-Chief

2017–2022 Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Martin von Bergen for the Section on Gut Microbiota
2017–present  Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Nico Jehmlich for the Section on Environmental Microbiology
2018–present  Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Giuseppe Comi for the Section on Food Microbiology
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Peter Neubauer for the Section on Microbial Biotechnology
2019–present  Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. James F. White for the Section on Plant Microbe Interactions
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Maurizio Ciani for the Section on Antimicrobial Agents and Resistance
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. David S. Lindsay for the Section on Parasitology
2020–present  Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Eiko Kuramae for the Section on Systems Microbiology
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Ute Römling for the Section on Biofilm
2021–present  Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Andrea Marzi for the Section on Virology
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Antonella d'Arminio Monforte for the Section on Medical Microbiology
2022–present  Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Grzegorz Wegrzyn for the Section on Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Paolo Calistri for the Section on Public Health Microbiology
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Dr. Pramod Gopal for the Section on Gut Microbiota
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Dr. Aránzazu Portillo for the Section on Parasitology
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Dr. Paul Andrew Barrow for the Section on Veterinary Microbiology
Back to TopTop