

microorganisms

We are pleased to announce that the following papers were selected as the winners of the *Microorganisms* Best Paper Award 2018:

• Iain Dickinson, William Goodall-Copestake, Michael A.S. Thorne, Thomas Schlitt, Maria L. Ávila-Jiménez, and David A. Pearce. Extremophiles in an Antarctic Marine Ecosystem *Microorganisms*, 2016, 4, 8.

DOI: 10.3390/microorganisms4010008

• Aaron Lerner, Sandra Neidhöfer, and Torsten Matthias. The Gut Microbiome Feelings of the Brain: A Perspective for Non-Microbiologists. *Microorganisms* 2017, 5, 66;

Doi:10.3390/microorganisms5040066

2018 BEST PAPER AWARD

WINNERS

The above papers were selected and confirmed by the "Best Paper Award" evaluation committee, which consisted of six members of the *Microorganisms* Editorial Board. The winners were determined according to the following criteria:

- Quality, novelty, and scientific soundness
- Citation and download rates

In recognition of their accomplishment, the winners will receive a certificate and an offer to publish a paper free of charge in *Microorganisms*, after the normal peer-review procedure.

