Travel Award

The JMSE Travel Award was launched in 2018, and it is presented every year to encourage junior scientists to present their latest research at academic conferences in the field of marine science and engineering, which helps to increase their influence. Applications will be open between April and October, and the winners will be announced by the end of December every year.

The prize includes the following:

– CHF 800;
– An electronic certificate.

Number of winners: two.

JMSE 2025 Travel Award
Application deadline: 30 October 2024
Winner announcement: 31 December 2024

Eligibility and Requirements

– Postdoctoral fellows, PhD students, or research fellows;
– Plans to attend an international conference in 2025 (presenting either an oral presentation or a poster).

List of Documents for Application

– Information about the conference the applicant is planning to attend and the abstract that will be submitted;
– Curriculum vitae and list of the applicant's previous publications;
– Justification letter describing the focus of the research (max. 800 words);
– Letter of recommendation from the supervisor, research director, or department head, which also confirms the applicant’s status.

Past Winners


Thein Than Tun
Auckland University of Technology
Jayasekara R. Jayasekara
Louisiana State University

Award Committee

Prof. Dong-Sheng Jeng Chairman
Griffith University
Dr. María Isabel Lamas Galdo
Universidade da Coruña
Prof. Dr. George Zaraphonitis
School of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering / National Technical University of Athens
Dr. Francesco Tiralongo
Department of Biological, Geological and Environmental Sciences, Univesity of Catania, Catania, Italy
Prof. Charitha Pattiaratchi
The University of Western Australia


Sofia Sadogurska
Department of Phycology, Lichenology and Bryology,M.H. Kholodny Institute of Botany, NAS of Ukraine
Xingsen Guo
University College London

Award Committee

Prof. Anthony S. Clare Chairman
Newcastle University
Dr. Azizur Rahman
University OF TORONTO and Center for Climate Change Research, Toronto
Dr. George Kontakiotis
National & Kapodistrian University of Athens, Faculty of Geology & Geoenvironment, Department of Historical Geology-Paleontology
Prof. Dr. Eugen RUSU
Dunarea de Jos University
Dr. Spyros E. Hirdaris
Associate Professor


Gal Eyal
Bar Ilan University, ISRAEL & The University of Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Oliver Jack Billson
University of Liverpool


Rebecca Morris
The University of Melbourne
Daniel Coffey
Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology, University of Hawaii at Manoa


Laura Weber
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Dr. Frederic M. Evers
Laboratory of Hydraulics, Hydrology and Glaciology (VAW), ETH Zurich
Back to TopTop