Journal History

2013 The inaugural issue was released. Climate was published as a quarterly journal.
2015 Climate was indexed in Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) - Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics).
2017 Climate announced the first edition of the Travel Awards.
was indexed in Scopus.
2018 Climate held an online Editorial Board Member meeting.
2019 Climate adopted a monthly publication schedule.
Climate received its first CiteScore (2018) of 1.95, ranked 53/109 in "Atmospheric Science".
2020 Climate received its 2019 CiteScore (3.2), ranked 57/115 in "Atmospheric Science".
Climate established the following sections:
Climate Dynamics and Modelling;
Policy, Governance, and Social Equity;
Climate and Environment;
Climate and Economics;
Climate Adaptation and Mitigation.
2021 The American Society of Adaptation Professionals (ASAP) became affiliated to Climate.
Climate received its 2020 CiteScore (3.9), ranked 55/124 in "Atmospheric Science".
Climate established the following sections:
Weather, Events and Impacts;
Climate Change and Urban Ecosystems.
2022 Climate received its 2021 CiteScore (4.7), ranked 51/135 in "Atmospheric Science".
Climate announced the 2022 Travel Awards.
Editorial Board Members from Climate Featured in Stanford’s List of the World’s Top 2% Scientists.
2023 The year 2023 marks the 10th Anniversary of Climate.
Climate received its first Impact Factor (3.7).
2024 Climate was indexed in GEOBASE.


2012–2016 Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Nicole Mölders
2016–2018 Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Yang Zhang
2018–2020 Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Gordon Huang
2020–2022 Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Steven McNulty
2022–present Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Timothy G. F. Kittel

Section Editor-in-Chief

2020–2024 Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Chris Swanston for the section on Climate Adaptation and Mitigation
2020–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Salvatore Magazù for the section on Climate Dynamics and Modelling
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Forrest M. Hoffman for the section on Climate and Environment
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Rui A. P. Perdigão for the section on Weather, Events and Impacts
Back to TopTop