Journal History

2011 The inaugural issue was released. Brain Sciences was published as a quarterly journal.
2012 Brain Sciences was indexed in Chemical Abstracts (CAS).
2014 Brain Sciences was indexed in PubMed and PubMed Central (PMC).
2015 Brain Sciences was indexed in ESCI.
2016 Brain Sciences was indexed in Scopus.
2017 Brain Sciences adopted a monthly publication schedule.
2018 Brain Sciences received its first CiteScore (2017) of 2.56.
2018 Brain Sciences instituted a Section Editor-in-Chief structure to spread all submissions to nine Sections.
2019 Brain Sciences was indexed in Science Citation Index Expanded-SCIE
Brain Sciences received its first Impact Factor (2.786).

Brain Sciences received its 2019 Impact Factor (3.332), ranked 113/271 (Q2) in "Neurosciences".

2021 The Impact Factor increased to 3.394.
2022 Brain Sciences received its 2021 Impact Factor (3.333).
2023 Brain Sciences received its 2022 Impact Factor (3.3), ranked 144/272 (Q3) in "Neurosciences".
Brain Sciences received its CiteScore (2022) of 3.9, ranked 65/110 in "Neuroscience".
2024 Neurotology and Neuro-ophthalmology was renamed as Neuro-otology and Neuro-ophthalmology.


2011–2019 Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Germán Barrionuevo
2020–present Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Stephen D. Meriney

Section Editor-in-Chief

2018–2021 Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Jason Brandt for the section on Cognitive Neuroscience
2018–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Evanthia Bernitsas for the section on Neurotechnology and Neuroimaging
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Heather Bortfeld for the section on Neurolinguistics
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Mark Burke for the section on Developmental Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Caterina Cinel for the section on Neural Engineering, Neuroergonomics and Neurorobotics
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Andrew Clarkson for the section on Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Sergey Kasparov for the section on Neuroglia
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Jose Lujan for the section on Computational Neuroscience and Neuroinformatics
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Konstantin V. Slavin for the section on Systems Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Pierluigi Zoccolotti for the section on Neuropsychology
2021–2024 Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Robert Emmett Kelly for the section on Psychiatric Diseases
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Dr. Mark S. Kindy for the section on Environmental Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Luigi De Gennaro for the section on Behavioral Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Roberto Cilia for the section on Neuromuscular and Movement Disorders
2022–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Gerry Leisman for the section on Educational Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Yang Zhang for the section on Social Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience
2023–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Manmeet Singh Ahluwalia for the section on Neuro-oncology
Section Editor-in-Chief: 
Prof. Dr. Kabirullah Lutfy for the section on Neuroscience of Pain
Section Editor-in-Chief: 
Prof. Dr. George B. Stefano for the section on Neurodegenerative Diseases
Section Editor-in-Chief: 
Prof. Dr. Adolfo M. Bronstein for the section on Neuro-otology and Neuro-ophthalmology
2024–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Rocco Salvatore Calabrò for the section on Neurorehabilitation
Back to TopTop